Yes, I like traveling alone.

If there’s one thing in this world that will give you your independence and make you truly feel like a grown up, it is traveling…. by yourself. 

When I turned 21 I decided that I needed to enjoy my life more and stop waiting around for others to join in on the fun. So my birthday week came and I jetted off (I just flew but this sounds fancier) to New York City. So what if I was going to be alone? I wasn’t going to let others decide for me when I get to travel to another state. 

After a cancelled and delayed flight, I finally made it. Honestly, I was never a New York fan but I guess as long as you’re an American it’s somewhere you need to go. Now, before I got their I was a very socially anxious person so I don’t even know how I managed to go on this trip. However; if there is a city to be alone, it is NYC. Because my flight kept changing I only had a couple of days to fit in everything I wanted to do. I was hopping on and off the double deckers like no tomorrow. I even managed to go to Little Italy and have lunch at a restaurant ALL BY MYSELF. If there’s one thing I learned from this trip it is to pack the right shoes.   
After New York I was off to my next destination. A place I like to call home away from home… Nashville, Tennessee. 


Unlike New York, Nashville probably isn’t a very common place for people to be hanging out alone. I remember I went to a restaurant by myself and people were being so nice to me because I was sitting there alone. Haha! Although, people seem to be nice there no matter what. Lucky for me during my first night there I met these amazing ladies from Wisconsin. When I tell people this story it seems like it’s out of a tv show. I ended up spending the rest of my trip with them. I got to do things with them that I probably would be scared to do alone. I couldn’t have met nicer people! I still have some funny stories with my time with them that I will not forget. Although they made my trip that much more fun, Nashville is such an incredibly friendly place that even spending time alone there wouldn’t be a problem. 

As cliche as this will sound. I do feel like I learned a lot about myself while traveling and gained a lot of independence. I feel like if I can do that than I can do anything. I still have a lot of places I’d like to go to. Some I’ve already gone (not alone) but plenty that I would like to go to  by myself even. 

Safe travels,

Suzy šŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Yes, I like traveling alone.

Leave a Reply

